This has to be my favorite thing on the internet right now!

 

 

 

 

 

 

I saw both of these the other night while searching for inspiration for the Masquerade HSF challenge, and it made me so happy! My sister couldn’t understand why I was so excited. 🙂

First we have the fashion print, which most of you have probably seen. I can’t count how many times I’ve seen it around!

Image

 

 

f

And then we have this, which looks like someone else decided to make the dress pictured! (Found on Pinterest; have no idea who originally posted it. The links lead to a password protected blog that I can’t view.)

Image

Isn’t that just so cute?!?! It’s a pretty faithful make of the drawn dress, too. Her hat and the bat on her chest are very different, but everything else is as close as can be to the drawing! She even remembered to have the black ribbon around her neck and the little bats on her shoes!

I love seeing fashion plates come to life from back then, especially when they are as faithfully recreated as this young woman did!

(I also was thinking of trying my hand at making this dress in the near future. Now I do know that it can and has been done! 😀 )

11 thoughts on “This has to be my favorite thing on the internet right now!

    • I’ve seen that picture so many times on the internet, but it was only the other day when I saw the photo of the woman who made a version of it way back then. I’ve always thought it was just the most adorable costume ever and now I just HAVE to make it!
      Also, I was thinking that if one is not that into bats, it’d be pretty easy to change it up into something themed after butterflies or moths. 😀

      • It would be easy! If you made the dress in a neutral color, like cream, with a change of wings, you’d be all set! 🙂 I wondered if there was something in the wings to keep them out. The drawing looks like there is something in them, the picture not as much. You could use boning, though you’d have to find someone who sells it off the roll to get a long enough piece.

      • D: I was thinking about that! I could get rolls of it on eBay, for not that much money, but those wings look like a piece of work!
        And if I like the dress enough, I can see myself making moth or butterfly versions of it. 😀

      • Oh, definitely, I think. I can see this will be a project that needs a bunch of boning… But I was thinking of how I don’t have any black fabric, so I might have to do something other than a black bat, unless I dye some fabric black, which is an option! Too little money and too much fabric stash to go out and buy new fabric hahaha :O

Leave a Reply

